caryp logo   

Home

How to Get a Driving Permit in Minnesota

1.

Enroll in a drivers education class that offers at least 30 hours of in-classroom education. The rules and safety of Minnesota roads are taught during these required class hours.

2.

Take the written and visual tests in person at a DMV service location. You can find a location at the Department of Drivers Services website. The written test is composed of true and false questions on road signs, rules and safety. Your vision must be at least 20/40 with a visual field of at least 105 degrees to past the visual test.

3.

Complete a permit application and pay $12 to verify the permit for a two-year period. During this two-year time you may follow the guidelines to attain a driver's license. The application requires both primary and secondary proofs of identification that include your full name, birth date and proof of residence.

Tips and Warnings

  • Double check that you have the appropriate documents before attending the vehicle services location.
  • A driver with a permit must be accompanied by a licensed driver over the age of 21.
  • A driver under the age of 18 must hold the permit for six months prior to applying for a license.
  • A driver over the age of 18 must hold the permit for three months prior to applying for a license.

  • Visitors Also Saw
  • What Does CBR Stand for in Honda Motorcycles?
  • Purpose of Sway Bars
  • Car Window Tinting Laws in Florida
  • How to Request a Texas DPS Driving Record Online
  • Cars That Get 25 Miles Per Gallon
  • How to Rent Cars in the U.S. & Internationally
  • How to Prevent Freezing in Air Brake Lines
  • The Specifications for Firestone Air Bags
  • How to Check an Airbag
  • Car Safe Driving Tips