Requirements for a Learner's Permit in Colorado
A learner's permit is the first step toward getting that coveted driver's license. A permit is essentially a probationary license that allows the holder to drive under certain conditions and must be held for a certain amount of time before a full license is awarded. The requirements for obtaining a learner's permit vary by state, with Colorado having special requirements for its three types of permits.
Certain documents are required for all three types of learner's permits in Colorado in order to take the vision and written tests, which are a requirement when applying for a permit. You must have an acceptable form of identification such as a school ID or birth certificate, a Social Security number, and a signed affidavit of liability and guardianship signed by your parent or guardian.
Driver Education Permit
A driver education permit is a permit allowing the holder to drive exclusively with a licensed driving instructor or the person who signed their affidavit of liability and guardianship until they reach age 18. The driver education permit must be held for 12 months before applying for a license. In order to obtain the permit, the applicant must be between 15 and 15 1/2 years old, present a signed affidavit of liability and guardianship, and present a completed affidavit of completion of driver education classroom course, all of which must be presented with six months of applying for your permit.
Driver Awareness Permit
A driver awareness permit allows the holder to exclusively drive with the person who signed their affidavit of liability and guardianship until they reach the age of 18. The permit must be held for at least 12 months before the holder may apply for a driver's license. To obtain a driver awareness permit, the applicant must be between the ages of 15 1/2 and 16 years old, must present a signed affidavit of liability and guardianship, and complete a four-hour driver awareness program.
Minor Instruction Permit
The minor instruction permit allows holders to drive exclusively with the person who signed their affidavit of liability and guardianship until they reach age 18. The permit must be held for a minimum of 12 months before the holder can apply for a driver's license. To obtain a minor instruction permit, the applicant must be between 16 and 21 years old and present a signed affidavit of liability and guardianship.
Visitors Also Saw
Reducing Gas Emissions From Your CarThe Correct Way to Wear a SeatbeltHow Can I Get Better Gas Mileage for My Truck?How to Test AirbagsPurpose of Sway BarsCalifornia Driving Law for a Right Leg Above the Knee AmputeeHow to Recognize Ice on the RoadTire Size Vs. Weight for Fuel EconomyHow to Tow a Trailer With the Ford v10 AutomaticHow to Tell if Airbags Work in Used Cars