Rules for an Illinois Driver's Permit
Each state has specific guidelines that individuals must abide by in order to become licensed drivers. Many rules are common to each state but there are variations, especially when licensing a teen driver. Rules of the road must be studied and applied so that Illinois roads as well as roadways across the country are safe zones for drivers and their passengers.
Teen Drivers Licensing Requirements
Traffic accidents are the leading cause of death for young people from 15 to 20 years of age. Each state works to implement ways to help teens become competent drivers. Illinois uses the GDL or Graduated Driver License program. The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety estimates that the Illinois GDL program could reduce crashes among 16 year-old drivers by 38 percent. The Illinois teen license procedure begins at age 15 when the teen is issued a practice permit. The practice permit requires the teen to: 1) accumulate 50 hours of practice driving including 10 hours at night; 2) complete a driver education class; 3) pass a written exam and 4) have a vision test before being eligible for the initial licensing stage at 16-17 years of age. Teens who go by all the rules of the GDL program are eligible for full licensing at the ages of 18 to 20.
Commercial Driver's License
Illinois driving laws require individuals driving vehicles in Classes A, B or C--such as transfer trucks or log trucks--to obtain a CDL or Commercial Drivers License. In order to be eligible for this license the driver must be 21 years of age or can be 18 years of age with some restrictions, have a good driving record and have a valid medical examiner's card. The CDL applicant must pass a written test, a road test and a vision test.
Motorcycle Driver's License
Approximately 2500 Americans lose their lives each year due to motorcycle crashes. The motorcycle grants individuals fuel economy but virtually no protection when involved in a crash. The state of Illinois creates licensing rules that take these facts into consideration. At this time the state does not legislate the use of helmets but urges drivers to use one. Motorcycle applicants are granted either a Class L license or a Class M license depending on the engine displacement or how fast the motorcycle will run. Passing grades on a road test and a written test are required. Teens 16 to 17 years of age are allowed to apply for a motorcycle license but the requirements are more detailed than for drivers 18 and over. Complete instructions on how to obtain a motorcycle license can be obtained online at cyberdriveillinois.com.
Visitors Also Saw
How to Tow a Trailer With the Ford v10 AutomaticHow to Get a Driving License in IllinoisWhat is the Proper Seat Posture?Advanced Motorcycle TrainingWhy are Car Lights on in the Daytime?Laws on Traffic Accidents in Illinois for TeenagersHow to Find Recalls for 2007 Dodge ChargersTypical Sentence for First DUI Offense in Minnesota2000 Dodge Caravan RecallsHow to Save Fuel Without Losing Horsepower